Baking partners · Celebrations · Desserts · For Kids · Oven Delights...

Strawberry cake

IMG_0338-0.JPG
Strawberry is a favorite fruit among many. When I was a child my dad would buy me small boxes of strawberries literally everyday. I just love the mild sweetness in these beautiful red fruits. I can keep eating them at anytime of the day or night. When I first came to India from Bahrain the first thing I was upset about was that strawberries are not fresh looking as u used to get back in Bahrain. The other thing was that they were soo expensive and half of them in the box are always spoilt and thrown out. So when ever I go to Bahrain the first thing I would ask my dad were strawberries.
When I was thinking about what cake I should make for my husband’s birthday the first thing that came to my mind was strawberry cake. U never find cakes made out of strawberry purée anywhere in the cake shops in chennai or as far as I know I never saw any. All u could find would be vanilla sponge sheet cakes layers with strawberry preserve filling in between the sponge layers.
This month we also had this as a challenge in baking partners. So I immediately grabbed this opportunity and for my husband’s birthday.

IMG_0336.JPG
Ingredients :

For the cake:
2 3/4 cups sifted cake flour
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
2 cups white sugar
4 eggs (room temp)
1 cup whole milk (room temp)
1 package strawberry flavored Jelly
1 cup butter, (room temp)
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup strawberry puréed

Method:

Step 1
Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Grease and flour two 9 inch round cake pans.

Step 2
In a large bowl beat the egg whites in a hand mixer or stand mixer with 1/2 cup sugar until stiff peaks and glossy. Set aside.

Step 3
In a large bowl, cream together the butter, sugar and dry strawberry gelatin until light and fluffy. Beat in egg yolks one at a time, mixing well after each.

Step 4
Combine the flour and baking powder and stir into the batter alternately with the milk. Blend in vanilla and strawberry puree.

Step 5
Divide the batter evenly between the prepared pans.
Bake for 25 to 30 minutes in the preheated oven, or until a small knife inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean. Cool the cakes well before removing from pan.<Preheat oven to 350F degrees. Butter & flour two 9 inch round cake pans, or use non-stick spray.

To Make flour Icing:

Ingredients:
5 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 cup milk
1 cup white sugar
1 cup butter, room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Cook 5 tablespoons flour and milk over low heat till thick, stirring constantly. Cool it completely.

Beat 1 cup sugar, butter, and 1 teaspoon vanilla until light and fluffy.
Add cooled flour mixture and beat until frosting is a good spreading consistency.

After the cakes have cooled completely frost with this beautiful icing.

IMG_0337.JPG

3 thoughts on “Strawberry cake

Leave a Reply

